LCPS Hosts Annual Black History Trivia Contest

LCPS Hosts Annual Black History Trivia Contest
Posted on 03/03/2021

If you’re looking for someone well-versed in African American history, you don’t have to look any further than the students at Louisa County Public Schools!

Louisa County Public Schools hosted its third annual Black History Month Trivia Contest on Wednesday, March 3rd at Louisa County Middle School. Twelve students from the division’s four elementary students competed in the contest, with Thomas Jefferson Elementary School fifth-grader Jonah Brown taking home the title of champion!

In total, the students competed for a little more than an hour. During that time, they correctly answered 103 questions concerning a variety of topics in African American history, which set a new record for the competition.

The contest, now in its third year, debuted in 2019 thanks to the initiative and sponsorship of Kerry Wynn, a 2009 graduate of Louisa County High School and NFL defensive lineman. Through his “Why Not Me? Foundation,” Wynn provided cash prizes of $100, $75, and $50 for the top three competitors. Afterward, Wynn, who joined this year’s competition virtually, said he was once again impressed by the level of knowledge on display by the students.

“This contest means a lot to me because it’s important for us to continuously highlight African American history in schools,” Wynn said. “To come out here and watch these students display how much they’ve been taught in school and to see how much research they’ve done to gain that knowledge, it’s great.”

The process of whittling the division competition down to the 12 finalists began in early February. All fifth graders at LCPS were given the option to take a 25-question online quiz. The top three scorers from each school were invited to the finale on Wednesday. 

For the first 75 questions of Wednesday’s competition, students fielded multiple-choice questions, having to choose the correct answer out of three options. In the second phase of the competition, students received questions in the format of true/false and either/or. The contest featured questions concerning a variety of topics, such as business, entertainment, sports, education, military, science, and more! To win, Brown correctly fielded questions for 16 consecutive rounds.

LCPS Superintendent Doug Straley praised Wynn for his initiative and work to help organize the contest.

“We talk about citizenship a lot here at Louisa County Public Schools, and Kerry embodies that quality,” Straley said. “He’s a fantastic role model for our students and he is someone I know our entire community can take a lot of pride in. He continues to donate his time and effort to make this world a better place, and we’re really thankful to have him as a member of our team.”

The 12 finalists competed under unique circumstances. While there was no in-person audience, the competition was live-streamed online for the first time in history so parents and other supporters could watch. After the event, Wynn also spoke with students on FaceTime to thank them for their hard work and great performance.  

Through his victory, Brown became the first champion to hail from Thomas Jefferson Elementary School. The inaugural contest was won by Jouett Elementary School student Owen Yarrington. Jouett Elementary School student Laurel Verbos took the title in 2020. As a result of Brown’s victory, Thomas Jefferson Elementary School will lay claim to the event’s official trophy, which rotates from school to school based on that year’s champion.

LCPS Assistant Superintendent for Instruction Dr. Amanda Hester served as the event’s announcer, while LCPS Director of Elementary Education Dr. Justin Grigg served as the event’s judge.

For complete photos of the competition, please click here!

1st Place - Jonah Brown (Thomas Jefferson Elementary School)
2nd Place - Aaron Weatherholtz (Moss-Nuckols Elementary School)

3rd Place - Erica Wood (Moss-Nuckols Elementary School)


Other competitors:

Gianna Dwyer (Trevilians Elementary School)

Jordan Thompson (Thomas Jefferson Elementary School)

Teagan Gentry (Trevilians Elementary School)

Cora McGinnis (Thomas Jefferson Elementary School)

Myles Stanley (Jouett Elementary School)

Charles Beason (Trevilians Elementary School)

Jaiden Hunter (Jouett Elementary School)

Harmonie Thomas (Moss-Nuckols Elementary School)

Erica Wood (Moss-Nuckols Elementary School)

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.