LCPS Names MVPs/Educators of the Year!

LCPS Names MVPs/Educators of the Year!
Posted on 03/26/2021

Through a division-wide vote and a nomination process that involved students, LCPS staff, and community members, six certified employees and seven classified employees have been honored for their excellent work for Louisa County Public Schools. The school division proudly announced its 2021 Educators of the Year and 2021 #TeamLCPS MVPs of the Year on Friday, March 26th, honoring 13 employees who have exemplified excellence during the 2020-2021 school year!


The process to select each school’s Educator of the Year and #TeamLCPS MVP of the Year began in August with the opening of the weekly #TeamLCPS MVP Awards program. Each week, staff, students, parents, and community members are able to submit nominations for members of #TeamLCPS that are going the extra mile to positively impact others. In total, more than 6,000 nominations were received over an eight-month period.  From there, each school’s entire staff participated in two rounds of voting to narrow the field down to the 13 finalists.


LCPS Superintendent Doug Straley, who distributed the awards on Friday along with LCPS administrators and Louisa County School Board chairman Greg Strickland, commended the entire LCPS community for its role in the process.


“What makes me really proud of our Educator and MVP of the Year awards process is that it is a community-wide effort,” Straley said. “Our nominations this year have come from people with diverse backgrounds from all across this county, and what connects them is that they’re thankful for what members of #TeamLCPS are doing for this community. It’s a real boost for our team members when they receive a nomination for doing things the right way.”


This year’s awards process was also made possible thanks to the sponsorship of The William A. Cooke Foundation and Old Dominion Insurance and Investments.


#TeamLCPS MVPs of the Year:

Jouett Elementary School: Instructional assistant Virginia Staudinger

Moss-Nuckols Elementary School: School nurse Tabatha Smith

Thomas Jefferson Elementary School: Instructional assistant Dawn Lipscomb

Trevilians Elementary School: Instructional assistant Carolyn Johnson

Louisa County Middle School: Instructional assistant Karen Cassell

Louisa County High School: Cafeteria manager Jessica Osborne

Operations: Administrative assistant Harriet Thurston

LCPS Educators of the Year:

Jouett Elementary School: Math resource teacher Elizabeth Burchell

Moss-Nuckols Elementary School: Technology coach Amanda Hurd

Thomas Jefferson Elementary School: Reading resource teacher Allison Waggy

Trevilians Elementary School: 4th-grade teacher Megan Barrett

Louisa County Middle School: Technology coach Kate Straley

Louisa County High School: Culinary Arts teacher Ben Howell

The 13 winners received the good news as well as a thank you gift basket on Friday, March 26th. The results and congratulatory video were posted online and on social media.

“What I really enjoy seeing is the enthusiasm and support from our students, staff, and the Louisa community when we announce our winners,” Straley said. “We have an amazing team atmosphere here in Louisa County, and I think that makes us pretty unique. This is a team full of great people.”


Mr. Straley also praised each of the 13 winners for their dedication to the school’s non-negotiables, which are support, high expectations, accountability, consistency, positivity, and grit.


“This has been a unique and challenging year, and all of our 13 winners certainly went above and beyond to support our students and their fellow staff members every step of the way,” Straley said. 


Over the next couple of weeks, a panel comprised of representatives from schools throughout the county will collaborate to select the 2021 William G. Thomas Educator of the Year and the 2021 Wallace L. Tingler MVP of the Year, the school division’s two most prestigious honors. The winners will be announced during a ceremony in early May.


Along with this year’s sponsors (The William A. Cooke Foundation and Old Dominion Insurance and Investments), Louisa County Public Schools would like to thank everyone who submitted a #TeamLCPS MVP nomination during the 2020-2021 school year!

For video highlights, click here!

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.